Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Home Help Search Login Register
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Blender Loader script(2.6x)? (Read 14702 times)
comeinandburn
Ex Member

Blender Loader script(2.6x)?
10/11/12 at 03:53:57

Hi,

Sorry if this has been mentioned before but I couldn't find anything by searching the forum.

Has anyone made a loader script for Blender, and any of it's available renderers?  I'm been wishing for this for what seems like forever and brought it up several times on the Blender forums but apparently I haven't reached the right ears:)

I don't believe that people realize how useful this would be!

IP Logged

Kel Solaar

Curious Apprentice

Re: Blender Loader script(2.6x)?
Reply #1 - 10/14/12 at 09:31:24

Hello!

Yeah it's on my TODO list since a few years now, but it's very deep in the stack unfortunately Sad

KS

IP Logged

comeinandburn
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 11/08/12 at 14:52:17

that's too bad:)

I'm not a coder at all so I'm not able to get this going, but theoretically would templates for other applications be helpful in making one for Blender? 

Do you think it's possible that someone like me would be able to caveman their way through it?  I've even considered making a small bounty for this if it's not too complicated.

IP Logged

tischbein3
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 11/08/12 at 20:42:44

Hi,

Just my 2 cents on this and I might be wrong on some issues:

- IMHO it is practically impossible to setup a cycles nodetree / modify an existing one by python, wich would be needed to incooperate sIBL GUI

- still a lot of features missing: Like a shaddow catcher shader

the irony about this is, without the above, it would be an ideal reference render engine to calibrate sIBL sets, since:

- everyone has access to it
- easy to setup an interface layout for non-blender users
- more or less unibiased render engine wich includes light types
- color management included (linear workflow)
- interactive