Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Home Help Search Login Register
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
PAlib & ibnds ... yes or no? If yes which libnds version? (Read 4069 times)
Yogie
Ex Member

PAlib & ibnds ... yes or no? If yes which libnds version?
05/03/12 at 11:53:49

Hi,

I'm still struggling with codes and libraries. I know that OCC makes usage of the PAlib, but as far as I understood PAlib is an addition on top of the libnds. PAlib is discontinued in development and on the devkitPro.org where libnds is still developed they just say NO to PAlib.

So I'm a bit confused on how to proceed in programming for the OCC DIY cable. I'm not a native programmer and just started with coding.

From what I can see the PAlib (was) is a higher lever library with nice commands to get faster results. But I can imagine as libnds is still maintained, that the latest libnds releases may be incompatible with the PAlib? So do you know wich version of libnds is the most up to date version that has no compatibility problems with PAlib?

Or would it be better to simply make usage of the libnds and skip PAlib?

In the PAlib release notes I can see that it was build with the libnds 1.3.7 which is not available anymore for download. Even the links on hdrlabs.com pointing to any PAlib website are orphaned.

IP Logged

Steve Chapman
Ex Member

Re: PAlib & ibnds ... yes or no? If yes which libnds version?
Reply #1 - 05/04/12 at 00:40:17

Permalinks are inherently risky, I will investigate whether we can post the old versions for you to build from.

PaLib, was, in short, the only way to make OCC about the cameras and not get bogged down with the internals of the DS. PaLib allowed us to draw UI element's in photoshop and easily turn them into sprites to animate the sliders and numeric displays. Without PaLib you'd need to flip bits on the display with your own code, which really detracts from the goal of shooting pictures!