Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
sIBL Workflow (Read 1250 times)
cptwhite
Ex Member

sIBL Workflow
01/23/12 at 17:07:52

Hi all,

I am officially a complete newbie to this amazing program and I'm having some trouble understanding the workflow of sIBL_GUI and sIBL_edit, so I'm hoping someonce can give me someone can give me a quick run through of the workflow.

I've watched Bloch's sIBM Edit vid, and the sIBL_GUI 3 quick run through vid.  So I have a general understanding, but it's still not completely in my head.

So I'm going to give an account of how I understand the workflow and put list some questions at the end, thanks in advance for any help!

Workflow (for Lightwave) >

1: Start with a Lat/Long HDRI
2: Open with sIBL_edit and break it into the constituent files, do any editing / tweaking and save, creating a set of files and the .ibl file
3: I assume the Lightwave plugin developed by Bloch is simply installed as a Lightwave plugin and opened from within lightwave, simply opening the .ibl file and tweaking from within the plugin before applying to the scene.

Seems pretty straight forward.

Questions >

1) But if that's the general workflow, what is sIBL_GUI used for?
2) What are templates from within the GUI, I assume these are some kind of presets for the various plugins that are developed?
3) Does working with Lightwave currently support the GUI program?  I understand the GUI seems to be some kind of integrated extension of the 3D app, to enable fast switching of the ibl set-ups, am I correct in thinking it's optional?!

I appreciate any light (no pun intended!) you can throw on the subject.
What is the GUI portion, can this integrate with LW 10.1?

*Confused* Sad

IP Logged

Blochi
Administrator

Hollywood
Re: sIBL Workflow
Reply #1 - 01/23/12 at 17:47:25

Hi cptwhite,

Let me answer the three questions backwards: