Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Why use a microcontroller? (Read 20549 times)
Helge

I love HDR

Why use a microcontroller?
05/26/10 at 20:21:28

Hi!

I was pointed to this forum by a friend who is shooting lots of HDR.
I am a professional software developer and I also use Atmel CPUs quite a lot for small controllers and embedded devices. Although I love to work with the little buggers, they sometimes are simply overkill.
When looking at the circuitry and the software I saw a few points where the design could be simplified dramatically.
The way the Atmel is wired to the DS bus, it is hard to do an efficient communication. The software driving it may be rewritten to be far more power saving. A cheaper CPU would do it too. The way it is currently used, it may even be replaced by a simple HEXFET transistor.

This would result in the following part list:
one IRLU 2905 or IRLR 2905 (HEXFET)
one 300 Ohm resistor (to limit the current through the optocouplers)
one 1M Ohm resistor (as pull-up for teh HEXFET)
one PC827 optocoupler (two units in one case, one for AF, the other for the shutter)

... resulting in a total cost of 2.40 Euro (approx. 3.2 USD) excluding the PCB. No need for a programming adaptor. Slim, easy to solder, no critical parts.

You may use eqivalent parts if the above mentioned items are not available in your area.

I' made a wiring diagram (see attachment). A PCB layout will follow.

Helge ;-)=)
« Last Edit: 05/28/10 at 04:11:15 by N/A »  

circuitry.png (Attachment deleted)

IP Logged

Blochi
Administrator

Hollywood
Re: simplified board layout
Reply #1 - 05/26/10 at 21:58:09

Interesting.
Brings up two questions:

A) The current effort goes towards adding USB support - will this go the right direction?
B) Does this result in a slimmer board, so it will fit inside a standard GBA casing?

IP Logged

Luke Skaff

I love HDR

East Coast, USA
Reply #2 - 05/27/10 at 01:52:09

Helge,