Home Help Search Login Register
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Free HDR probes! (Read 25480 times)
brij

Curious Apprentice

Free HDR probes!
09/06/08 at 18:04:29

Thank you so much Christian for your excellent book! I am a longtime 3D modeler and a beginning equirectangular HDR photographer. In thanks, I want to share my first HDR probes with the HDRlabs community. I have tested these probes in Brazil, Vray and Maxwell... all in Rhino. Any feedback on how to make them better is greatly appreciated! By the way, if this is the wrong section in the forums for this post please move it.
Thanks,
bj
brian.james@mcneel.com
http://download.mcneel.com/s3/mcneel/brazil/2.0/beta/en/HDRI_sampler_bj.zip

« Last Edit: 09/07/08 at 15:46:19 by brij »  

IP Logged

Blochi
Administrator

Hollywood
Re: Free HDR probes!
Reply #1 - 09/07/08 at 21:34:25

Thanks for sharing, much appreciated.

On the technical side, there is a lot of pixelation in your probes. Looking at the files, I assume you used Flexify2 in Photoshop to warp them into the Angular format... Make sure to not turn down Sharpening in Flexify - this is just asking for trouble. As much as I hate to recommend HDRShop, but in this particular transformation (Lat-Long to Angular) HDRShop is actually a better job, because you can tell it to oversample each pixel...

Also, for most programs the Equirectangular format is more versatile - you can use it as reflection map or simply map it on a dome.

And last but not least - this forum is technically meant for sharing ready-made sIBL presets. Well, since we don't have a Rhino importer (yet) I can see how this is of lower priority for you... Smiley

Anyway - with all my picky remarks, it's still awesome you posted your HDRIs. Very cool, thanks.

Blochi

IP Logged

brij

Curious Apprentice

Reply #2 - 09/08/08 at 16:50:01